Rockville, MD (May 6, 2021) – The American Society for Nutrition (ASN) today announced the 15 people who will be inducted into their class of 2021 Fellows. To be accepted as a Fellow of the Society is the highest honor ASN bestows, recognizing individuals for significant discoveries and outstanding careers in the field of nutrition.

“It is a special honor to announce those selected as Fellows for the American Society for Nutrition,” said Lindsay Allen, PhD, President of ASN. “As leaders in this field, these nutrition guides are known for their lasting contributions that enable us to advance the mission of a healthier world through evidence-based nutrition. We celebrate them for their legacy and thank them for inspiring the next generation of global nutrition guides . “

The ASN class of 2021 scholarship holders:

Susan Carlson, PhD, University of Kansas Medical Center

Michael Clandinin, PhD, University of Alberta

Rebecca Costello, PhD, NIH Office of Dietary Supplements

Teresa Davis, PhD, Baylor College of Medicine

Ralph Green, MD, PhD, University of California Davis

Rachel Johnson, PhD, RD, University of Vermont

Samuel Klein, MD, Washington University Medical School

Martin Kohlmeier, MD, PhD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Mary R. L’Abbé, CM, PhD, University of Toronto

Michael McBurney, PhD, University of Guelph

David McCarron, MD, Oregon Health and Sciences University (1997-2001) and University of California Davis (2001-2018)

Neil Shay, PhD, Oregon State University

Helmut Sies, MD, PhD, MD, FRCP, Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

Maret Traber, PhD, Linus Pauling Institute / Oregon State University

Katherine Tucker, PhD, University of Massachusetts Lowell

The ASN Class of 2021 Fellows will be honored in advance of and during the virtual ASN meeting. NUTRITION 2021 LIVE ONLINEJune 7-10. They will also be recognized at lunch for the Fellows, 50-year-old members, and past Presidents during the American Society for Nutrition’s flagship meeting, Nutrition 2022. This year’s class members will join more than 400 other ASN fellows recognized since the program began in 1952.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the correctness of the press releases published on EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of information via the EurekAlert system.